The Nature Of The Soul

The natural world brings us home. It connects us, reminds us of what we’re made of, where we’ve been, where we’re going, and where we are. Being in nature brings us to this place, where we seem to have an idea of what “it’s” all about. There is serenity at the ocean shore, nourishment in the mountains, and truth in the jungle. If I didn’t know any better, I would say that the sky, ticking with stars, is there to show us that we aren’t it, that there’s more to us than we think.

The idea that the natural world connects us to our own nature has been true for me since as long as I can remember. I have no statistics to back these claims up, no research to reference. I think facts are interesting but they don’t hold a candle to first-hand knowing. The kind of knowing that happens when you’re at the edge of ocean looking out into the June night at the Milky Way is the kind of knowing I’m interested in. But we’ll get to that later.

My mother and father allowed me to begin hugging trees at a very young age, and I don’t know if they thought it was weird or cute then, but I’m sure they think it’s weird now because I never stopped. I was communicating with our cat, Ashley, until she died when I was fourteen. Choosing a college for me was about choosing North Carolina ocean or North Carolina mountains, and I chose the beach and swore I would never leave, until I met a boy. Isn’t that always how it goes? He’s a very gifted jazz pianist, so when it came time for him to pursue his dream we migrated to Boston.

I found myself in a peculiar position upon moving to the city. For one, I was becoming increasingly interested in spiritual matters—meditation, divinity, loving kindness, chanting, etc— and I had been working with the energies of crystals for about a year at that time.  On the other hand, I was, for the first time, out of touch with the natural world. Until then, the ocean and sky had been my catalyst for bliss and connection to the creative intelligence of the universe. I no longer had these things to rely on; all I had was myself. I was being forced to go inward.

Thomas Moore wrote that, “a piece of the sky and a chunk of the earth lie lodged in the heart of every human being.” He’s right. What I have found over the past seven months in the city is this: We are not out of touch with nature because we lack nature, but because we don’t recognize it when we see it. We don’t see that it is us. We don’t acknowledge the soul as a part of the natural world, so we fail to maintain it, and we become vulnerable to mental and physical disease.

There are many issues in this world deserving of our attention, and I am convinced that the most important one is the starvation of the soul. Our souls need to be preserved, fought for, nourished and maintained in the same way that our oceans and forests do. We need to be conscious of our souls like we need to be conscious of our climate. We need to watch what we put in our bodies. Caffeine, cigarettes, alcohol, drugs, processed food, and television are all soul-pollutants that distract us from our true nature.

It would be unfair and unrealistic for me to suggest, at this point, that we drop all of those things. Instead, I would like to offer some things for us to gain. The mission of this blog is to offer inspiration, love and practical tools that you can use to feed your soul. It will serve as a well of knowledge on crystals and their healing energies, as well as a guide on how to lure the wilderness that lies dormant in you, out. I believe in conversation, and I invite you to participate. I especially hope that this blog reaches those who feel disconnected from the natural world, as well as those who want happiness without having to drop everything and go live in a cave in India. The way into the wild is through the soul, so here we go!

Peace and blessings,

Kara Daly

This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Nature Of The Soul

  1. Lynne Williams says:

    I love that you are writing, your words are so thoughtful and genuine. I’m not as conmfortable as you at expressing my inner thoughts but hope to use your blog to change and expand.
    Love you more.
    Mom

  2. Barbara Laufer says:

    Love the new blog! You are a gifted writer and I can already tell your words will touch and expand many people. I look forward to opening myself up to your positivity and wonderful perspective on nourishing our souls! Keep writing; love the name of your blog!
    Barb

  3. Kara Daly says:

    Thank you for your support guys! So happy you like it so far!

  4. love the idea of luring the wilderness dormant inside us (especially in the city)! here is a quote that reminded me of this blog post:

    And in time there’s no more telling which is which between them, no sharp distinction, no clear edge of difference where it can be said that here the land ends and here the man begins.
    — Don Berry, Trask

  5. Joan B says:

    Hi Kara, This blog is just extraordinary – I am blown away by your insight. Just got back from a retreat at IMS in Barre, MA and was wishing I had learned this practice when I was in my 20’s, instead of my 40’s. So lucky you. I have lots of resources for you, one of my first teachers (Mark Coleman) wrote a book called “Awake in the Wild” all about meditation and mindfulness in nature. Check out IMS’s website at dharma.org – and the retreat I just got home from was taught by Lila (Kate) Wheeler, who is from Somerville and has a weekly group in Cambridge. Her web-site is katewheeler.com (I think).
    Good job – keep it going.
    With Metta,
    Joan

  6. Kara Daly says:

    Wow Joan, thank you so much for the information! I will look up both of those people! A weekly group sounds wonderful. Thanks for reading and for your support. Hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

